The Deal with Development

Published: 2021-07-07 00:07:27
essay essay

Category: Philosophy

Type of paper: Essay

This essay has been submitted by a student. This is not an example of the work written by our professional essay writers.

Hey! We can write a custom essay for you.

All possible types of assignments. Written by academics

Erik Erikson was a famous developmental psychologist. He was born in Germany and died at the age of 91. He is famous for his theory known as “Erikson’s stages of psychological development.” The work has been done by Erik Erikson and Joan Erikson. According to Erik, there are eight stages of psychological development that every human being has to face from embryonic stage to the late adulthood. Each developmental stage is dependent upon the previous stage. A human must complete one stage successfully to become successful in the next stage of development. Furthermore, it has been said that if a person does not complete one stage successfully then he may face trouble in the later phases of the life.The first stage in the “Erikson’s stages of psychological development” is of trust. Human being stays in the age from 0-23 months. An infant depends upon his parents for his basic needs such as food, clothing. In the beginning, the child needs to develop the trust that can I trust my parents? Can they take care of me? Next stage in the development is of autonomy vs. shame that lasts from 2 years to 4 years. In this age, a child learns that is it okay to act like the way he wants? Are his parents supportive? The third stage is initiative vs. guilt that is pre-schooling phase where a child learns to act and do different things. Stage 4 is of competence in which a child learns how to survive in the world. The stage 5, Fidelity, allows a teen to learn that what can he do in his life and how can he become successful. Love stage teaches a person how to become successful in his relationships. The 2nd last stage teaches a person how to make his life memorable so that people remember him in good words. In the last stage that is of integrity vs. despair, a retired person focusses on his entire life and see what he has achieved so far (Rosenthal 1981).Works cited:Rosenthal, D. A., Gurney, R. M., & Moore, S. M. (1981). From trust on intimacy: A new inventory for examining Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development. Journal of Youth and Adolescence, 10(6), 525-537. 

Warning! This essay is not original. Get 100% unique essay within 45 seconds!


We can write your paper just for 11.99$

i want to copy...

This essay has been submitted by a student and contain not unique content

People also read